Now 3AM and middle-aged

March 31, 2008 at 3:00 am | Posted in Love, Puppy, Sean-ism | 4 Comments

Since I still can’t sleep, I’ll share with you a revelation we stumbled upon today.

Sean and I were finishing up the monotonous chore of painting our bedroom in time for the arrival of our new furniture on Wednesday morning. The dogs were sleeping in their respective corners and Sean had completed his task of paint rolling.

All that was left to do now was trim, and I hate trimming. Sean mentioned that since his work was done he was going to hop outside for a smoke and then start work on vacuuming the downstairs.

So I said, “Daddy, do you want to take the babies outside with you?”

And he answered, “They just went, I think they’d rather sleep up here with you, Mommy.”

And then we realized… (cue sudden awareness music)… Sean and I used to make fun of couples that called each other Daddy and Mommy when their kids weren’t even in the room and now we were doing it.

But we don’t have kids yet! I’m not even middle aged yet! And since we’ve adopted them we’ve been throwing around the terminology: Daddy, Mommy, Son, Daughter.

Not that we’re going to stop calling each other those silly terms. I just wanted to make us all aware that Sean and I are now officially annoying dorks, and we really love our dogs.

For your sake, I promise that I’ll try not to call him Daddy when you come to visit, unless I mean it in a kinky way. Har har.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. You’re just realizing now that you’re a dork? 🙂

  2. Good point.

  3. I like this new layout…and you guys are great Mommy and Daddy’s.

  4. 🙂

    I SO enjoy your blog!!

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

