Poop update

March 10, 2008 at 6:45 am | Posted in Puppy | 5 Comments

Remember in my last post how I said that Jasmine was “fine now”? Well that was wishful thinking. The poor little shitter woke me up EVERY HOUR last night to poop in the backyard. I guess I should be thankful that she had the decency to wake me up at all, and that all of the cow pies made it out into the yard rather than on our bedroom carpet.

She’s not acting strange so I’m not too worried that she is suffering from some sort of intestinal bug, I’m assuming that perhaps she ate some polyester stuffing from a toy, or a sock, or a light bulb. To be cautious, we’ve stopped giving them the fancy grilled chicken treats. Sam seems to have no effects and is pooping solid, so we figure it probably isn’t something wrong with their food source.

With little sleep this morning, however, I decided to take matters into my own hands. I did my research on the internet rather than spending a truckload of money on a vet visit. I bought Jazzy B some plain yogurt, white rice, and a bottle of Pepto Bismol. Unfortunately, I bought the liquid Pepto rather than the pill form, not knowing that even the smell of mint makes my dogs show their teeth as if they had just eaten the most sour lemon known to man.

The solution? I mixed the Pepto with the yogurt and the rice and Jazzy managed to slurp it down. She apparently loves yogurt that much. I’m debating on taking a half day to monitor her bowels, and making up the time on my day off.

I wish I could just give Jasmine some of my iron pills. She’d be clogged up right good in no time.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. The first two years of Moose’s life, he’d have periodic bouts of diarrhea. He hasn’t had any for over three years that were as traumatic as what he used to have. I wasn’t as smart as you, and wasted hundreds of dollars at the vets on useless tests and special prescription “diarrhea dog food” before I wised up and started treating it at home. I used to keep boil-in-bag rice just for Moose (I don’t cook), and I’d also boil (not fry) ground beef to mix with the rice. (A kind vet told me to do this instead of wasting money on expensive prescription food.) That plus the pepto pills always worked within a few days.

    I never could narrow a cause for Moose’s diarrhea. He just grew out of it I guess.

  2. And Moose’s poop must’ve been the size of a horse!

  3. Maybe she’s lactose intolerant… 😉

  4. Oh gosh, iron pills. yow.

    Hope she’s better!

  5. I’ve always understood that anything lactose – milk, yogurt, cheese – was bad for dogs – made their eye sight go bad…. I use to give my little one plain white boiled rice and grilled chicken for protein. Or starve her for 24 hours to get whatever it was out of her system/.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.